Very Long List of Musical Entities…

I listen to music every single day, whether by streaming or just the radio and a couple CDs. I’m even listening to music as I’m writing this! You could say I’m legitimately addicted to the stuff. And, as any other music addicted individual could tell you, the list of artists and bands I have listened to would probably be sevel feet in length if I wrote one title in each margin of a normal sized page. Or it might be because my handwriting is larger than most peoples. Point is, the list is long!

Most of these titles are ones that play over the radio, so the average 18 year old would know most of them…

  • One Republic
  • The Script
  • The Fray
  • Maroon 5 (My mom confiscated one of their CDs from my posession. Inappropriate lyrics, she said. I was 6.)
  • Coldplay (Forever one of my all time favorites!)
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Emeli Sandé
  • Bastille
  • Adele
  • Taylor Swift (I was fourteen, okay?!)
  • Justin Bieber (Mostly his new stuff)
  • P!nk
  • One Direction (Yeah, not so much anymore…)
  • Shawn Mendes
  • Twenty One Pilots (I wish I could rap like these guys!)
  • Ecosmith
  • Lorde
  • Bruno Mars
  • Sam Smith
  • Zedd
  • Avicii
  • George Ezra
  • Vance Joy
  • Sheppard
  • Ariana Grande
  • Ellie Goulding
  • Kūngs
  • Nick Jonas
  • Sia (What an amazing voice!)
  • Swedish House Mafia
  • Sigma
  • Labrinth
  • Birdy
  • Florence And The Machines
  • Galantis
  • X Ambassadors 
  • Megan Traynor
  • The Lumineers
  • Pentatonix

Easy right? Lots of familiar names there. Now we move on to the titles that I believe don’t quite get the recognition they totally deserve…

  • Kaleo
  • Matthew Mole (A South African artist who manages to write the most touching lyrics ever!)
  • Adam Young
  • Owl City (yes, I know Adam Young IS Owl City)
  • Circa Waves
  • Mystery Jets
  • Billie Marten (For those rainy afternoons spent in a hammock…)
  • Amber Run
  • MisterWives
  • Milky Chance
  • Relient K (I wouldn’t be stretching the truth if I said they probably have 200 songs!)
  • Lindsey Stirling (Violin + Dubstep + Dancing = Happy Me)

I love a good Rock album, or an Alternative Mix streaming session. These are my favorite Rock / Alternative titles so far…

  • Hozier
  • U2 (Classic!)
  • TOTO (Yet another classic!)
  • The Downtown Fiction
  • Anberlin (This is the closest to metal that I have ever gotten myself.)
  • Mutemath (These guys are crazy good!!!)
  • Nothing But Thieves
  • Matchbox Twenty
  • Our Last Night (Hard rock cover band)
  • Kongos
  • The Kooks (According to a friend of mine, my voice suits British Rock? Mmmm, I don’t know about that…)
  • Brooke Barrettsmith (She’s a Christian Rock artist. Very cool.)
  • Blink-182
  • The 1975

Now we’re getting to the Jazz genre, which includes not only jazz, but also jazzy pop and rock and a little R&B.

  • Dirty Loops (‘Stabs’ galore!)
  • Dave Brubeck (Take Five is a classic masterpiece.)
  • Jamie Cullum
  • John Mayer
  • Paul Desmond (Dear Lord, can I please play as good as this guy one day?)
  • Lianne La Havas (This woman’s voice is like silk, and her guitar skills are crazy…)
  • Béla Fleck And The Flecktones (I grew up listening to this because my dad’s band was obsessed with them.)
  • Sting (Good ole Sting, the man’s a legend in the music world. My dad’s band also loved his music.)
  • Jack Johnson (For the most ‘feel good’ music, this is your guy!)

And last, but certainly not least, Gospel. I love this genre so much, it’s jam packed with inspiration!

  • Bethel Music (I am obsessed. Completely. Bethel is plain amazing!)
  • Planetshakers
  • Hillsong United (Because come on, who doesn’t just love Oceans?!)
  • David Crowder
  • The Afters
  • Leeland (Lion And The Lamb is an awesome song!)
  • Matt Redman
  • Chris Tomlin
  • Passion
  • Switchfoot
  • Tenth Avenue North
  • Israel Houghton (The chord progressions this man comes up with blows my mind…)
  • Jesus Culture
  • Downhere
  • Lincoln Brewster
  • Newsboys (Miracles is still my favorite song of theirs, be it however old.)
  • Duis:Lig (A great South African duo, even if you mostly don’t understand what they’re singing!)

Well! There we have it. My extensive list of favored musical entities. I know I probably just bored the light of you, but I had fun revisiting my musical past, so I don’t really care if you found it dull. But I would LOVE to hear from you if it somehow struck a chord with you! Leave a comment, if you must.

Plectrumgirl out! 🐒🎶

Leave a Reply

